If Only A Slide Will Do (Redux)

This blog has served as a catalyst for my own continual learning experience. This particular post has proved to be no different. As you can see from the comments, Doug Shaw has highlighted a lack of authenticity even in the briefest of slide decks I’ve used in the past. Doug made me think better. I should point out that I’ve always been present when I’ve shown this deck and don’t tend to dwell on them overmuch. I also show examples of my work (when client confidentiality permits). However, I believe that I secure work on the basis of a truthful conversation and it is in this dialogue that I open my heart. So, in an effort to square the two I’ve decided to try a single slide to tee up the conversation to follow and focus on what matters. The slide is shown below and I’ve left the entire previous post below that to retain the context for this and for Doug’s comments. This may not be the final iteration but I’d love to hear what you think.

talk

I’m no great fan of PowerPoint, but if you absolutely MUST have them they should be honest and brief. I like to think that my work speaks for itself and there are plenty of examples on this blog that I can refer people to or clients who are happy to act as referees. That’s why I only ever use these 5 slides (excluding the two that top and tail the deck).

Slide1Slide2Slide3Slide4Slide5Slide6Slide7

5 comments

  1. Hello Simon

    Thanks for writing this, the post and the slides. I love the idea – but on this occasion I can’t say the same for how you’ve executed it.

    I may be wrong, I often am, and we’ve not yet met face to face (I’m very much looking forward to lunch with you and David today), but what I’ve just read conveys very little about what I know of you. You write of imagery, of artistry, of illustration and sketching. You say you like to think your work speaks for itself – and what do others think?

    I love the idea, and a picture paints a thousand words. For me at least – these words do not paint you. Somewhere, I think there’s an infinitely more powerful version of this story.

    Cheers – Doug

    PS – the case study is great!

    1. I understand better now. I suppose your response only serves to highlight why I dislike the medium. I’m always in the room when the slides are on screen so they get ME too. We spend more time looking at imagery and in conversation than we ever do on the slides.

      1. Hi Simon – forgive me, a lack of authenticity was not what I observed in version 1, apologies for coming across that way. For me, version 2 creates space for you to tell stories relating to the stuff you wrote in version 1. I think that may be more fun for you and the audience? But like I say – what do I know?! See you soon – Doug

  2. I’ve has to do similar things with Powerpoint – I had to do a Pecha Kucha (a presentation style in which 20 slides are shown for 20 seconds each (six minutes and 40 seconds in total)). Pictures are the only way to do it. For example when explaining difficulties in a project, I displayed a brick wall. Cut the words in all of this – my main message was on the final slide while people asked me questions.

    1. Thanks Tom. I think images trump words and not including what I would usually show may have compounded the impression of inadequacy in the word slides.

Leave a Reply

