Happiness At Work & Cartooning Collaboration

The other evening, as I was preparing dinner for two hungry little monsters, I heard a remarkable chap on BBC Radio 2 talking about happiness at work. He was propounding the potential for anyone to be happy at work and, as this blog is so often about both work and happiness and also about the challenges to happiness that modern working life can bring, I was intrigued. The gentleman in question was Alexander Kjerulf.

Alexander is the founder of Woohoo inc and, according to his website, one of the world’s leading experts on happiness at work. He is a speaker, consultant and author, presenting and conducting workshops on happiness at work at businesses and conferences all over the world. His clients include the likes of Hilton, Microsoft, LEGO, IKEA, Shell, HP and IBM.

Having tracked him down on Twitter, I thought it might be a neat little collaboration to invite Alexander to choose a single word subject for a cartoon that I would share here and with my Twitter followers and also for Alexander to do the same. My brief was perhaps a trifle narrow so Alexander came back with two words: HAPPY and BOSS. As my invitation to this collaborative effort was sprung out of the blue, I was happy to indulge a minor creep in scope.

Here is the cartoon inspired by those two simple words.

Happiness

I hope you like it and I hope that Alexander and his followers will too. A very simple exercise in spreading a little happiness.

6 comments

  1. This is fantastic, Simon. Thank you so much for doing this :o)

  2. […] he came back with was great – go here to see the cartoon and learn the real secret to making the boss […]

  3. […] From workmusing.wordpress.com […]

  4. Natasha Stallard (@StirTheSource) · · Reply

    Brilliant Simon!

    I love A’s company name too … WooHoo … and how he answers calls

    ‘WooHoo, Alex speaking’

    Genius!

    Tash

    Sadly I missed the radio slot

  5. Love the cartoon! I saw the “Chief Happiness Officer” speak at a recent event in Boston. Very inspiring (none of his recommendations involved alcohol though as far as I remember…)!

Leave a Reply

